What would you do if you only had 24 hrs left? #MyFinal24

ALEX-SO-THIS-IS-THE-END-AUGUST-2018-8864 copy

Are you subscribed to writer Alexandra Franzen’s newsletter? If not, you should be. Her letters are thoughtful and inspiring. Anyway, her new book So This Is The End: A Love Story has just been released! The novel is about the last 24 hours of the main character Nora’s life. Basically, the book poses the question: If you had just 24 hours to live, what would you do with your time?

So? What would you do?

Alex posed this question in her latest newsletter and I have to say it took me a few minutes to come up with my own list, which I’m sharing below.

#MyFinal24 List

final24 list

  1. Write letters to my family and friends. – The first thing I thought about was, you know, I gotta tell people I love them. Then I thought, I might have a few more things to say to some of them and that’s going to take some time, so maybe I’ll just write letters. Just short letters though because I know writing stuff will also most probably take me a while.
  2. Close or take care of my different accounts so my family doesn’t have to. – A kinda boring thing, but practical, I think. I’m referring to my bank accounts and online accounts and what not. You know, just make sure they’re all in order or that they can be accessed by my family.
  3. Go to the beach. – I can’t swim or surf or whatever for shiz, but I’ve always been drawn to the beach. I think I would love to spend a few last hours on the hot sand, in the salty water, and under the scorching sun.
  4. Tell the truth always. – I don’t know if I could actually do this, but I think it would be nice to leave the world with only truth in my heart.
  5. Spend time with family and friends. – This needs no explanation, I think. I would love to hug my loved ones before I go.
  6. On my last hour, listen to my favorite songs and dance. – My favorite songs always make me feel everything – happiness, sadness, ecstasy, agony, hope, frustration, etc, etc, and etc. Before the end, I want every inch of me to be dripping with emotions. I want to feel everything before fading away.

And that’s all I got. 24 hours is pretty short if you think about it. Making this list is actually making me think that I should actually try to do most of these things now and/or as much as I can while I still can, you know?

What would be on your #MyFinal24 list?

If you want to share your own list, you can find the assignment details here: http://bit.ly/MyFinal24.

– – – – –

So-This-Is-The-End-Alexandra-FranzenSo This Is The End: A Love Story by Alexandra Franzen

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You and Jill Santopolo’s The Light We Lost, comes a powerful romance

What if doctors could revive you from death―and give you an extra 24 hours of life?

One more day. One more chance to tell your family how much you love them. One more chance to say goodbye to friends, listen to your favorite song, throw an epic party, feel the grass beneath your feet, or watch the sunset. How would you spend your time?

So This Is The End follows Nora Hamilton as she navigates her final 24 hours. She’s determined to do something meaningful and make every moment count.

Enter: Renzo. Ren, for short. Strong, compassionate, unfairly attractive, with a face that makes Nora’s stomach explode into stars. Their connection is immediate, with white-hot intensity. Nora is wracked with bittersweet joy and confusion as she realizes, “I’ve finally met the love of my life… on the last day of my life.”

Should she tell Ren the truth about her condition―tell him she doesn’t have much time left? How will he react? Is it unethical to allow yourself to fall in love with someone when there’s no possibility of a future together? Or is love a precious gift, no matter how long it lasts, even if it’s just for one day?

What happens next is a story about taking chances, making your own rules, and the power of living like there’s no tomorrow.

A moving romantic drama: Early readers call So This Is The End “a breath of fresh air,” “moving and beautiful,” “an amazing wake-up call,” a book you’ll be “unable to put down,” with a story that makes you “fall in love the instant you start reading.”

You can purchase the book here: http://bit.ly/so-this-is-the-end

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.