Spotlight: The Rose by PD Alleva (and a $50 giveaway)

TheRose_TourBanner

Today we have dystopian sci fi thriller The Rose by author PD Alleva. I was intrigued by the blurb because, um, alien vampires!? It sounded like an interesting and unique take on different concepts and I love stuff like that. I checked out the reviews on Goodreads and they’re all pretty good so far.

Read more about the book, read an excerpt and read all the way to the end of the post to join in on all the blog tour fun! :)

The Rose by PD AllevaAbout the book

A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of underground genetic experiments, telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, conspiracy, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.

Sandy Cox believed WW3 was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.

Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least NO ONE HUMAN.

And they’ve taken her unborn child.

Enter Phil, a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles his way through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.

But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.

When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!

Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.

Add this book on Goodreads. Get this book on Amazon or B&N.

The book is on sale for $0.99 for a limited time!

About the Author

PD Alleva is an alternative fiction author. His novels cross genres, blending mystery, conspiracy, psychology, and action with horror and dystopian science fiction. Alternative fiction is PD’s attempt at describing what readers uncover in any one of his books, a new discovery towards mainstream storytelling. He’s been writing since childhood, creating and developing stories with brash and impactful concepts that he would describe are metaphors for the shifting energies that exist in the universe. PD exists inside of his own universe, working diligently on The Rose Vol. II and exceptional horror novels. Be prepared for Golem, PD’s upcoming horror thriller.

Connect with the author on his Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Amazon!

The Rose is on sale for $0.99 for a limited time!

Read an Excerpt

The blades were unharmed. The blades are a unique contraption with thin handles held in the palms, clamps that wrapped around the wrist and just above the elbow, connected by a thin, almost string like plastic. The metal blade descended from the handles down across the arm bone to the elbow clamp and locked into place. The metal they were made from was not of this earth and was able to collapse inside the handles and wrist clamp like tin foil crumples inside a fist. But this metal was strong and solid and unmatched to any substance on earth. The handles when pressed by the index finger would ignite the blades down the arm, locking in place. Another unique feature were the handles, fitted comfortably in the palm, when pressed with the thumbs would ignite claws of steel. A useful tool when needing to climb walls. Robyn had spent years teaching Phil the art of Kobudo Tonfa. An art he’d become supremely confident with.

Phil’s stare drifted to the full blood moon rising over the compound. Eyes wide, thinking: You know what that means. There’s more under the moon tonight than just alien vampires. And they come with teeth. The moon’s red glow crept across the landscape as Phil dipped his chin to his chest, grinding his teeth. Four simple words on the tip of his tongue…

“Get ready to bleed.”

Giveaway

PD Alleva will award one winner, chosen randomly via rafflecopter, a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit the other tour stops for more chances of winning!

You can find the list of participating blogs here: https://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2020/08/virtual-book-tour-rose-by-pd-alleva.html

Spotlight: Dark Matter by Alyssa Huckleberry (and a $10 Giveaway)

Dark Matter by Alyssa Huckleberry

How’s it going, friends? Today, we’re featuring Dark Matter by author Alyssa Huckleberry. I haven’t been reading much this year (not for lack of trying) but the few books I finished were mostly fantasies, so I was happy to join this book blast for something sci fi (my other favorite genre).

Read more about the book below, check out the excerpt and enter the giveaway for a chance to win a $10 gift card. Enjoy!

Dark Matter_Cover ConceptAbout the Book

“Survival is light years away.”

Earth is dying. The only salvation for humanity is colonizing space, yet so far that has failed. The last hope for survival exists on a planet light years away…and the mission is fraught with danger. Teenager Selina Alois leads a group of six high achievers who pass the exam of a lifetime to earn a position on the precarious expedition. As the mission launch approaches, dark secrets are exposed about the planet. Further digging reveals a sinister plot that not only risks humanity’s fate but also puts Selina and her team to the ultimate test.

Add this book on Goodreads.

About the Author

DarkMatter_Author-PHoto

Alyssa Huckleberry grew up in San Diego as the oldest of four children. After earning a business degree from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Alyssa spent a short time working in finance before transitioning to work in education. Today Alyssa works as a fifth grade teacher and she LOVES her job!

When she isn’t teaching or writing, you can find Alyssa running, reading, practicing yoga, traveling the world, or spending time with those dearest to her. She loves spending time outdoors, growing in her faith, and learning new things (hence, the great amount of time spent reading, traveling, and going on adventures!). A true lover of whimsy, she also believes everything is better with a latte in hand.

Alyssa’s first novel, Rescuing Racei, was published in 2004 (while Alyssa was still a high school student) and later won the San Diego Book Award for Best Young Adult Novel. Since then, Alyssa published three other books to complete the series: Stealing Splendiferous, Magicus, and The Maleku Map.

The Struggle is Real was an inspired piece written for an adult audience as a stand-alone work. Her latest novel, Dark Matter, is written for a young adult audience. It is the first book in what will be a science-fiction series imagining a future of space exploration!

Connect with Alyssa here: Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon

Buy Dark Matter: Paperback | Kindle

Read an Excerpt From Dark Matter

“We don’t have much time.”

The first words out of my mother’s mouth were not what I had expected. I had expected to find
both of my parents home from work early; I had expected them to want to talk to me; I had expected an endless stream of questions. But not this.

The urgency in my mother’s tone told me this was more than a melancholic response to my impending departure—this was much more. Frowning with concern, I looked from my mother’s knitted brow to my father’s taut jawline. I stood frozen in place, hesitant even to close the door behind me.

“Come in,” my mother rushed on impatiently. “We really don’t have much time.”

Obediently, robot-like, I took a segmented step. My father pulled me forward and deeper into the
kitchen until the door clicked shut behind me.

“You need to listen very carefully to what we’re about to tell you,” my mother told me sternly.

“We won’t have a chance to say anything twice. What you hear, you must never repeat.”

“If any of us are caught sharing this information, we’ll be executed,” my father cut in, voice low
and grave.

Giveaway

Alyssa Huckleberry will be awarding a $10 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit the other tour stops and leave a comment for more chances of winning. You can the tour dates and participating blogs here: https://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2020/07/book-blast-dark-matter-by-alyssa.html

Spotlight & Giveaway: The Ghost King by Jeff Altabef

the ghost king jeff altabef

Today we’re featuring The Ghost King by author Jeff Altabef. This is the follow-up to dystopian fantasy Red Death, which I reviewed a while back. I liked Red Death so I can’t wait to read this soon!

Read on to know more about the book and check out how you can win a $50 gift card, signed paperbacks, or a crown necklace!

Read more

Cover Reveal: Inferno, Book 3 in the New World series by Jennifer Wilson

Woohoo I’m joining in on the cover reveal festivities for Inferno, book 3 of the New World Series by author Jennifer Wilson!

Have you guys read this series yet? I have to be honest, I haven’t but I already have the first two books in Kindle and can’t wait to dig in (as soon as I find the time haha)! I’m in love with the covers and the story is intriguing.

Read more about the books below and check out the details on how you can win awesome prizes just by sharing about the cover reveal! Go go go!

Read more

Review of Red Death by Jeff Altabef (Blog Tour and Giveaway)

Today we’re featuring Red Death, the latest book by author Jeff Altabef.  Jeff and his daughter Erynn have just finished launching the last book in their The Chosen Series so now it’s time for something new!

Read more about Red Death below and check out my review! And, of course, check out the blog tour giveaway! Have fun and goodluck! :)

Read more

About a Movie: Mockingjay Part 2

Carpet Head and I managed to go to the movies for two consecutive nights this week, thanks to the special holidays brought on by the APEC Summit. We watched Mockingjay Part 2 the first night and Spectre on the next. Woot. I was going to write about both movies, but I realized they deserve separate posts. So this one’s just about Mockingjay. Duh.

Read more

Dystopian Authors Collide! Prepare for Fun Events and Giveaways!

Dystopian Authors Collide

Whether you love or dread thoughts of the end of the world, there’s no denying, this is one hot genre! This week, we have brought together some of the best of the best for fun, prizes, and best of all, books! Some of these authors may be familiar, some may be new, but they are all amazingly talented and ready to party! Read on to know more about what we have for you this week!

Read more