Review: Never Say Chai by Kirsten Weiss ($10 Giveaway)

Never Say Chai Tour Banner

Today we’re featuring a cozy mystery, Never Say Chai by Kirsten Weiss. Have to admit, it was the “Tea & Tarot” bit that got me interested in joining this blog tour. Plus the story seemed fun, so I dove in. I’m glad I did!

Read on to know more about the book. Don’t forget to enter the blog tour giveaway for a chance to win a a $10 Amazon or B/N GC!

Never Say ChaiNever Say Chai cover

It’s Halloween season in small town San Borromeo, and Abigail and Hyperion are determined to make Beanblossom’s Tea & Tarot spooktacular. But when Hyperion’s boyfriend, Detective Tony Chase, is arrested at Beanblossom’s for murder, the duo is certain someone’s playing a nasty trick. And when the official investigation turns into a witch hunt, the stakes to unearth the truth are raised…

But a clever killer has plans to squash their investigation… and the two amateur detectives. If they don’t solve this puzzle—and fast—it will be out of the cauldron and into the fire for them both.

Never Say Chai is the fourth book in the Tea and Tarot cozy mystery series. A fast-paced and funny cozy mystery, packed with quirky characters, pets, and murder! Perfect for fans of Jana DeLeon, Janet Evanovich, and Donna Andrews. Buy the book and start this hilarious caper!

Tearoom recipes in the back of the book!

Add this book on Goodreads. Get this book on Amazon, Apple Books, Nook, Google Play, or Kobo.

About the Author

Amazon bestselling author Kirsten Weiss writes laugh-out-loud, page-turning mysteries. Her heroines aren’t perfect, but they’re smart, they struggle, and they succeed. Kirsten writes in a house high on a hill in the Colorado woods and occasionally ventures out for wine and chocolate. Or for a visit to the local pie shop. Kirsten is best known for her Wits’ End, Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum, and Tea & Tarot cozy mystery books. So if you like funny, action-packed mysteries with complicated heroines, just turn the page…

Connect with Kirsten Weiss: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Bookbub | Email

Fun and fast-paced mystery

I liked it. This was a fun read. Light, humorous and fast-paced with interesting characters.

Abigail and Hyperion seem like such a fun duo and I enjoyed their banter and dynamics. This is the fourth book in the series but it can stand on its own. Sometimes though I did feel like I missed out a lot on how their friendship and partnership became what it is, but that didn’t really take away from the story. It just made me curious about what happened in the previous books.

The story is not really deeply complicated, but it’s intriguing enough to make you keep reading. The book manages to keep you guessing til the end.

Overall, this book was an easy and enjoyable read. I liked the little tarot bits sprinkled in there. If you like cozy mysteries or want something light that you can breeze through, you might enjoy this one.

Note: I received a review copy of this book from the author and Goddess Fish Promotions as part of my participation in the blog tour. All opinions and views expressed here are my own.

Read An Excerpt

There are some things that should go without saying. For example, don’t leave a coffin in your business partner’s driveway. It’s just not done.

But there was a coffin in my driveway. And it had wheels. I looked from the black coffin to the yellow bungalow. Yep, it was my house. Just above the peaked roofline, fog blurred a watery sun.

“Do you have any idea why there’s a coffin in my driveway?” Because there was really only one person who would put one there. I tore my gaze from the wooden coffin to Hyperion. “And why is it on wheels?”

He shifted his weight. “Didn’t I mention the coffin race?”

“No.”

“Why’d you think I had a t-shirt cannon?”

“I still have no idea why you’ve got one.”

“For the coffin race.” He patted the coffin’s hood.

I waited.

“I entered Beanblossom’s in the race,” he said patiently. “We’re going as the Death card. I’ve got a scythe and everything.”

“A scythe at high speeds. What could go wrong?”

“It’ll be like in one of those Italian medieval morality parades. Did you know those parades most likely spawned the Tarot’s major arcana cards?”

“Oh, boy.”

“Or was it the Renaissance?” He shook his head. “They were in Italy. I know that much.”

Giveaway

Kirsten Weiss will be awarding a $10 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit the other tour stops for more chances of winning: https://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2021/07/book-blast-never-say-chai-by-kirsten.html