Review: Never Say Chai by Kirsten Weiss ($10 Giveaway)

Never Say Chai Tour Banner

Today we’re featuring a cozy mystery, Never Say Chai by Kirsten Weiss. Have to admit, it was the “Tea & Tarot” bit that got me interested in joining this blog tour. Plus the story seemed fun, so I dove in. I’m glad I did!

Read on to know more about the book. Don’t forget to enter the blog tour giveaway for a chance to win a a $10 Amazon or B/N GC!

Never Say ChaiNever Say Chai cover

It’s Halloween season in small town San Borromeo, and Abigail and Hyperion are determined to make Beanblossom’s Tea & Tarot spooktacular. But when Hyperion’s boyfriend, Detective Tony Chase, is arrested at Beanblossom’s for murder, the duo is certain someone’s playing a nasty trick. And when the official investigation turns into a witch hunt, the stakes to unearth the truth are raised…

But a clever killer has plans to squash their investigation… and the two amateur detectives. If they don’t solve this puzzle—and fast—it will be out of the cauldron and into the fire for them both.

Never Say Chai is the fourth book in the Tea and Tarot cozy mystery series. A fast-paced and funny cozy mystery, packed with quirky characters, pets, and murder! Perfect for fans of Jana DeLeon, Janet Evanovich, and Donna Andrews. Buy the book and start this hilarious caper!

Tearoom recipes in the back of the book!

Add this book on Goodreads. Get this book on Amazon, Apple Books, Nook, Google Play, or Kobo.

About the Author

Amazon bestselling author Kirsten Weiss writes laugh-out-loud, page-turning mysteries. Her heroines aren’t perfect, but they’re smart, they struggle, and they succeed. Kirsten writes in a house high on a hill in the Colorado woods and occasionally ventures out for wine and chocolate. Or for a visit to the local pie shop. Kirsten is best known for her Wits’ End, Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum, and Tea & Tarot cozy mystery books. So if you like funny, action-packed mysteries with complicated heroines, just turn the page…

Connect with Kirsten Weiss: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Bookbub | Email

Fun and fast-paced mystery

I liked it. This was a fun read. Light, humorous and fast-paced with interesting characters.

Abigail and Hyperion seem like such a fun duo and I enjoyed their banter and dynamics. This is the fourth book in the series but it can stand on its own. Sometimes though I did feel like I missed out a lot on how their friendship and partnership became what it is, but that didn’t really take away from the story. It just made me curious about what happened in the previous books.

The story is not really deeply complicated, but it’s intriguing enough to make you keep reading. The book manages to keep you guessing til the end.

Overall, this book was an easy and enjoyable read. I liked the little tarot bits sprinkled in there. If you like cozy mysteries or want something light that you can breeze through, you might enjoy this one.

Note: I received a review copy of this book from the author and Goddess Fish Promotions as part of my participation in the blog tour. All opinions and views expressed here are my own.

Read An Excerpt

There are some things that should go without saying. For example, don’t leave a coffin in your business partner’s driveway. It’s just not done.

But there was a coffin in my driveway. And it had wheels. I looked from the black coffin to the yellow bungalow. Yep, it was my house. Just above the peaked roofline, fog blurred a watery sun.

“Do you have any idea why there’s a coffin in my driveway?” Because there was really only one person who would put one there. I tore my gaze from the wooden coffin to Hyperion. “And why is it on wheels?”

He shifted his weight. “Didn’t I mention the coffin race?”

“No.”

“Why’d you think I had a t-shirt cannon?”

“I still have no idea why you’ve got one.”

“For the coffin race.” He patted the coffin’s hood.

I waited.

“I entered Beanblossom’s in the race,” he said patiently. “We’re going as the Death card. I’ve got a scythe and everything.”

“A scythe at high speeds. What could go wrong?”

“It’ll be like in one of those Italian medieval morality parades. Did you know those parades most likely spawned the Tarot’s major arcana cards?”

“Oh, boy.”

“Or was it the Renaissance?” He shook his head. “They were in Italy. I know that much.”

Giveaway

Kirsten Weiss will be awarding a $10 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit the other tour stops for more chances of winning: https://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2021/07/book-blast-never-say-chai-by-kirsten.html

Review of Vapor Trail by Dick Hannah

I always gravitate towards science fiction and fantasy, but I also like picking up some suspense or mystery/thrillers every now and then. And today I have one for you! We’re featuring Vapor Trail by author Dick Hannah. I had the chance to review his first book a couple of years back. Vapor Trail is his third book and it’s a good one.

Read on to know more about it and check out my thoughts on the book.

Read more

Books to Movies: Angels and Demons

Angels and Demons

Angels and DemonsBasic info. Angels & Demons by Dan Brown was released in 2000. The movie came out in 2009, a couple of years after The Da Vinci Code came out. The movie brought back Tom Hanks and also starred Ewan McGregor, Ayelet Zurer, and Stellan Skarsgard.

What’s the story? Renowned cryptologist Robert Langdon is called to decipher a mysterious symbol that was branded on the chest of a physicist murdered inside a research facility. He discovers that the symbol points to an ancient underground brotherhood called the Illuminati. It seems the secret organization has surfaced to do some damage to their supposed adversary, which is the Catholic Church. To make things even worse, someone planted a bomb somewhere in the Vatican, where cardinals of the world are gathered to choose a new pope.

Which one did I experience first? I saw the movie first and later on I decided to read the book so, you know, I’ll know the real basis for the movie. By that time, The Da Vinci Code was already out for two years and everyone already knew the Robert Langdon character, and I think everyone was just curious about the ‘new’ Dan Brown book-based movie. So you know, me included. I wanted in on the bandwagon. Hah.

Read more

Books to Movies: The Da Vinci Code

The Da Vinci Code

The Da Vinci CodeThe basic info. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown was published in 2003 and became a bestseller all over the globe. Of course they decided to make a movie out of it. The movie came out in 2006 and starred Tom Hanks, Audrey Tautou, Paul Bettany, Jean Reno, Ian McKellan, and Alfred Molina.

What’s the story? Robert Langdon, a symbologist, gets called to the scene of the murder of the curator of the Louvre. The curator left a clue that led to more clues found in the works of Leonardo Da Vinci. With the help of French cryptologist Sophie Neveu, Robert discovers that the curator was part of a secret society dedicated to protecting a religious relic. Robert and Sophie follow the clues while trying to evade an unknown danger that seems hell bent on getting their hands on whatever it is the secret society is protecting.

Which one did I experience first? I read the book first and it was during the time when it was already very popular and everyone was mostly raving about it.

Read more

Spotlight & $100 Amazon Giveaway: I Can See You by Joss Landry

2014-ICanSeeYouTourBanner
I Can See You Blog Tour (Jul 28 – Aug 22)

I thought this book had an interesting story, that’s why I agreed to help out in the blog tour and host a guest post by the author. Check out the book and the guest post, and enter the tour-wide giveaway for a chance to win $100 Amazon Gift Card or $25 Amazon Gift Card.

Read more

Cover Reveal: REDEYE by Michael Shean

This sinister cover, my friend, is none other than that of REDEYE, the second installment of author Michael Shean’s The Wonderland Cycle. I haven’t read the first book, Shadow of a Dead Star, but I’ve read and reviewed the author’s other book Bone Wires.

The Wonderland Cycle
is set in the same world where Bone Wires took place so I’m pretty sure these are cool reads, too. Check out the book summaries below!

Read more

Review of Toe The Line by Dick Hannah

About the book

In Toe the Line, small business owner and triathlete, Wynn Johnston, finds his ordered, predictable life thrown into turmoil when his training and business partner, Wheeler, is murdered in the seemingly safe confines of the Seattle airport. As Wynn begins to dig into Wheeler’s past he finds out that his best friend was involved in a racing conspiracy that puts Wynn’s business and his life in danger. Wheeler’s murder forces Wynn to confront deceptive fellow racers, the potential bankruptcy of his business, and past loves he thought long dead, all while avoiding the murderer who is hunting him across Seattle.

Read more

Review of Bone Wires by Michael Shean

This is my review stop for Bone Wires, a dark science fiction mystery novel by Michael Shean. I joined this tour because the book title reminded me of the movie The Bone Collector and the blurb made me think of Criminal Minds and CSI! Sometimes the words science, forensics, detective, and serial killers just get at me when it comes to books, shows, and what not. Read more after the jump!

Read more